Award-Winning Author of Slow-Burn Romances between Strong Women

Golden Crown Literary Society Awards

The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) held its annual conference last weekend, and the GCLS awards (“Goldies”) were presented on Saturday.

I woke up to an inbox full of e-mails, telling me “congratulations,” but giving me no clue as to what I had won since three of my novels had been shortlisted. The GCLS hadn’t posted the award winners yet, so I clicked through all e-mails until I got to messages from Jeanine Hoffman, a fellow L-Book author who attended the conference.

She e-mailed me on her iPhone during the award presentation, telling me Backwards to Oregon had just won a Goldie for historical romance. Her second e-mail told me that Next of Kin won in the category romantic suspense. By the time I got to her third e-mail, which let me know that Second Nature had won an award for best speculative fiction, I was in shock. A very pleasant shock, of course :-)

I can only say thank you to all the people who made this possible — my beta readers, test readers, editors, and my publisher, Roxanne Jones from L-Book, who accepted the awards on my behalf.

Here’s a list of all Goldie winners:

Anthology — non-erotica
And Baby Makes More — eds. Goldberg/C. Rose
Year’s Best Lesbian Fiction ’08 — ed. Fran Walker

Debut Author:
Keile’s Chance-Dillion Watson
October’s Promise-Marianne Garver
Waltzing at Midnight-Robbi McCoy

Dramatic/general fiction:
Detours-Jane Vollbrecht
Family Affair-Saxon Bennett
Gemini-Geonn Cannon

Attractions of the Heart-Cheri Crystal
Nights Kiss- Catherine Lundoff

Historical Romance:
Backwards to Oregon-Jae
Kicker’s Journey Loic Cloarec Hart

Possessing Morgan-Erical Lawson
Veritas-Anne Laughlin
Who’ll Be Dead For Christmas-Kate Sweeney

Paranormal Romance:
Barking at the Moon-Nene Adams
Everafter-Nell Stark/Trinity Tam

Bird Eating Bird-Kristen Naca
In Praise of Falling-Cheryl Dumesnil
The Heart’s Traffic-Ching-in Chen

Romantic suspense/intrigue/adventure:
Next of Kin-Jae
The Scorpion-Gerri Hill
Thief of Always-Kim Baldwin/Xenia Alexiou

Short Story/Essay/Collections Non-erotica
Mean Little Deaf Queer-Terry Galloway
My Sweet Wild Dance-Mikaya Heart
Outsiders-K. Sweeney/ JD Glass/L Ames/S Smith/G Beers

Speculative Fiction:
Forever Mine-KD Williamson
Second Nature-Jae
The Veil of Sorrow-Crystal Michallet-Romero

Traditional Contemporary Romance
Keile’s Chance-Dillion Watson
Stranded-Blayne Cooper
Worth Every Step-KG MacGregor

Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award:
Beggar of Love-Lee Lynch

Director’s Award:
Rosa Moran

Trailblazer Award:
Ellen Hart

Congratulations to all Goldie winners!

The Romance Bet by Jae

Free books
In my monthly reader newsletter, I share not just new releases and other book news but also free books, giveaways, and special offers. As a welcome gift, you also get a free ebook copy of my romantic short story The Romance Bet.

Subscribe to get free books

2 thoughts on “Golden Crown Literary Society Awards”

  1. You deserve it, Jae. It’s a pleasure reading your books. And I’m really happy for you. So, don’t you dare stop writing ;-)


Leave a Comment